玛璐考拉和动物公园是一个家庭经营的旅游景点,占地五百亩,靠近韦斯波顿海湾水线。玛璐以动物园、海盗皮特的迷你高尔夫、家园式餐厅、恐龙室内游戏室为特色。玛璐是吉普斯兰地区的一部分, 从菲利普岛出发只有15分钟车程。自1983年以来,玛璐持续运营。

我们致力于加深游客对我们的本地野生动物和环境理解和重视,主要让游客通过触觉体验,如轻拍和多种动物“接触”。公园管理员举行定期会谈让你对动物有更多了解。Maru也是一个授权野生动物庇护所,帮助受伤的和无父无母的土著动物重返大自然。

Maru和Heffer的历史发展

最初是由露丝赛蒙太太和她已故的丈夫乔治、他们的三个孩子玛丽莲、斯蒂芬、伊恩共同创办的。露丝和乔治在科布勒姆地区经营一家奶牛场,露丝在1974年注册了Maru工艺。Maru这个名字是由玛丽莲和露丝名字的首字母而来的。乔治和露丝搬到弗兰克斯顿并在格兰特维尔按揭购买一块地为退休后用之前,家庭制作的手工陶瓷在多个地方和市场售卖和购买的未清偿bush-block土地“退休”。

他们开始清理并建立他们的新家园,露丝对乔治说“我只是想在门前开个小商店,打发我退休后时间”,所以“Maru工艺”于1983年从格兰特维尔一个小商店开始发展起来。随着业务的增长以及车辆开始在前往菲利普岛路上停,动物也越来越多。乔治喜欢动物,有许多关于他和动物故事。有一次,他最喜欢的袋熊一直在他庄园跟着他。还有一次,风头鹦鹉查理(仍然是Maru定居者)栖息在乔治的肩膀,并问侯前来商店客人。

起初全家人都参与其中,但儿子伊恩看到大规模开发此业务的潜力,于1990年从他的父母接手管理此业务。随着动物园的发展,公司更名为“Maru考拉和动物园”,原来的小商店经过两次扩大到包括饮食和零售区,还加入了澳大利亚主题迷你高尔夫。2006年,高尔夫演变成配有海盗船和真人大小的海盗人物的专门海盗主题。

露丝和乔治仍然参与其中,但1997年乔治不幸去世了。虽然露丝已高龄88岁,但是现在退休的露丝仍然非常关心Maru,一如既往友好欢迎前来游客。2004年,伊恩嫁给了内罗利,他也加入了这项家族事业中,他们的女儿贝基于2006年出生,2008年塔巴莎出生。他们经常与游客互动,成为动物园备受欢迎人物。

2009年1月3日是悲伤的一天,当天一场大火灾完全摧毁了所有建筑物,烧焦的商店和建筑物被清除。Maru继续在临时建筑物中运营,2011年8月一百多万美元投资的新建筑开始使用。新的现代建筑物包括入口、纪念品区和迎合家园式餐厅需要的大型商业厨房、用餐区以及俯瞰到动物园的室内游戏室。

Maru已经从一个小商店发展成为屡获殊荣的专业旅游景点,仍然是家族经营模式。

Maru Koala and Animal Park is a family run tourist attraction on five acres near the waterline of Westernport Bay and features an animal park, Pirate Pete's Mini-golf and the Homestead Bistro with the Dinosaur Indoor playroom. Part of the Gippsland region and only fifteen minutes from Phillip Island, Maru has been operating its current location since 1983.

We are passionate about fostering an understanding and appreciation of our native wildlife and their environment and do this through tactile experiences where you can hand-feed, pat and 'get in touch with' many of the animals, including koalas. The park keepers provide regular talks to encourage you to learn more about the animals and Maru is also an authorized Wildlife Shelter, rehabilitating injured and orphaned native animals and then returning them to the wild.

The Maru and Heffer History

The Maru business was originally founded by Mrs. Ruth Heffer and her late husband George and all of their three children, Marilyn, Stephen and Ian were all involved. Ruth and George ran a dairy farm in the Cobram area and in 1974 Ruth registered the business name of Maru Craft. "Maru" was formed using the first two letters of the ladies names, Marilyn and Ruth. The family made hand crafted ceramics and traded from several locations and markets before George and Ruth moved to Frankston and purchased an uncleared bush-block of land in Grantville to 'retire' on.

They began clearing and building their new home and Ruth said to George "I just want a little shop out the front to keep me occupied in my retirement" and so "Maru Craft" began trading from a small shop on their Grantville property in 1983. As the business grew and coaches began to stop on their way to Phillip Island, animals were also added. George was fond of animals and there are many stories of one of his favourite wombats following him all around the property, or Charlie the cockatoo (still a Maru resident) perched on George's shoulder or greeting guests in the shop.

The entire family was originally involved, but it was son Ian who saw the potential for the business to be developed on a much larger scale and took over management from his parents in 1990. As the animal park grew, the trading name was changed to 'Maru Koala and Animal Park', the original small shop twice expanded to include an eating and retail area and an Australian themed Mini-golf course added. In 2006 the golf was rejuvenated into a unique pirate themed course complete with a pirate ship and life-size pirate figures.

Ruth and George continued to remain involved but in 1997 George sadly passed away. Despite being over 88 years of age and now retired Ruth is still very passionate about Maru and a regular friendly face greeting visitors. In 2004 Ian married Neroli who has also joined the business and daughter Becky was born in 2006 and then Tabatha in 2008 with both regular and popular faces at the animal park as they interact with the visitors.

It was a sad day on the 3rd January 2009 when a major fire totally destroyed the buildings and all contents and the charred remains of the original shop and buildings were cleared away. Maru continued to trade from temporary buildings and in August 2011 a brand new building of over a million dollars investment was opened. The new modern premises include the entrance and souvenir area and a large commercial kitchen that caters for the Homestead Bistro, with dining area and indoor playroom that looks out over the animal park.

From its humble beginnings, Maru has developed into an award winning and professional tourist attraction that is still very proudly family owned and operated.